Release notes
Blog Other  
Analytics opt-in in 0.6.2

Analytics are now disabled by default and a message briefly explaining why the app would like to collect analytics is now displayed at startup.

Saturday, May 12, 2018 Sat, May 12, 2018 12 May '18
Release notes

Fixed a minor issue that caused a crash introduced in 0.6.

Thursday, May 10, 2018 Thu, May 10, 2018 10 May '18
Release notes
Release notes in 0.6

0.6 brings a brand new game mode, Drop Four (also known as Connect Four, Captain’s Mistress, Four Up, Plot Four, Find Four, Four in a Row, Four in a Line and Gravitrips). I’ll add more information about this in a game design post. Other features include:

  • Browsable release notes in app, that include links to the blog.
  • Back and forward buttons in the game history.
  • In game action buttons now use icons.
  • Previous move highlight now fills the square.
Monday, April 30, 2018 Mon, Apr 30, 2018 30 Apr '18
Release notes

One major bug fix and a bunch of minor changes in 0.5.3 to try and smooth the path for new players.

  • Players will no longer get stuck in a game started from the “Load game” screen.
  • The in game overlay that shows instructions now has a solid background. The “Hide Overlay” button now says “Continue” and is more prominent.
  • Trying to play when it is the AIs turn shows an alert telling you.
  • Default player names are now chosen based on whether the player is human or an AI.
  • Starting a “quick game” (currently only possible from the Rumble announcement) does not randomise player order, so the human player always goes first.
Friday, April 13, 2018 Fri, Apr 13, 2018 13 Apr '18
Release notes
Gomoku stones in 0.5.2

The biggest feature added in 0.5.2 is a new visual style for Gomoku pieces.

I have a new game mode in development and I realized it didn’t look right using the current style for pieces. As I started work I decided Gomoku might be improved with its own style too. The result is intended to look more like traditional Gomoku stones.

Tuesday, April 10, 2018 Tue, Apr 10, 2018 10 Apr '18
Release notes
Game results screen on 0.5
  • Game results screen, complete with trophies.
  • Application settings screen, mainly for disabling some data collection.
Tuesday, April 3, 2018 Tue, Apr 3, 2018 03 Apr '18
Release notes
4 player Rumble in 0.4 on a tablet
  • Added the first multiplayer focused game mode, Rumble.
  • Made some tablet-specific layout improvements.
  • Tweaked saving to allow creating new saves instead of always overwriting.
  • Add cloud based AI.
Thursday, March 15, 2018 Thu, Mar 15, 2018 15 Mar '18
Release notes
Load game screen in 0.3

Just one feature in 0.3, but a significant one. Game saving and loading.

Wednesday, February 7, 2018 Wed, Feb 7, 2018 07 Feb '18
Release notes
Game selection screen in 0.2
  • Fixed many minor issues with the AI.
  • Added a rematch button.
  • Improved the game selection screen.
  • Added Wikipedia and Creative Command attribution.
  • Added the in-game move history browser.
Friday, January 26, 2018 Fri, Jan 26, 2018 26 Jan '18
Release notes
Game selection in 0.1

Initial release.

Friday, January 5, 2018 Fri, Jan 5, 2018 05 Jan '18
Release notes